The Rock & Roll Librarian

April 3, 2008

Making good when you done bad… a Guitar Hero III story

Filed under: Gaming — Tyler Rousseau @ 2:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

As great as the Guitar Hero III game is, it received some negatively publicity for the Wii version.

And deservedly so.

In a previous post I gave the game a glowing review.  The controls were pretty good, I loved the addition of a pseudo-plot and the song selection was solid.  The sound was always a bit off to me but, I figured that was because of my hearing loss.

Then I learned that it wasn’t just my wonky ears, Activision actually released the Wii version in mono sound.  Yeah, it is kind of a cheap thing to do for any video game nowadays but not putting in minimal (and outdated) sound quality for a virtual rock and roll music game!?  

Bad Activision, bad!

After enough publicity was generated, Activision started a replacement program for any Wii-GHIII owners who were feeling the sting, which I took part in.  About a month ago, they sent a self addressed envelope with a very simple questionnaire and asked me to return my ‘faulty’ CD.  Normally, I’d expect this type of mail-in thing to take 4-6 weeks for delivery.

Within 10 days I had a brand new and improved version of Guitar Hero III and, man, the sound was infinitely better.  As a consumer I was pleased with the response time but still a little annoyed with Red Octane for trying to pull a fast one with its fanbase.

Two days later, a package arrived in the mail from Activision.  I opened it and the enclosed letter read:

Dear value Activision/Red Octane Customer,

“You recently received a Guitar Hero III Legends of Rock Wii replacement disc.  To show our appreciation for your patience during the re-mastering and manufacturing phase of GHIII, enclosed is a complementary Guitar Hero Faceplate.”

Wow, really?  My local gaming store hasn’t had a Wii faceplate in stock for a good two months.  Now I don’t have to bother looking each time I go in!

Good move, Red Octane.  You could’ve just given the remastered disc and left fans semi-satisfied that the company owned up to its mistake but, instead, you decided to try and win back a little support from the base by throwing in an extra gift.  Sure the faceplate probably cost mere cents to make, but it costs consumers $15.

And as a result; will I remember the “The Other Red O Incident” as I’ve come to call it?  Yes, but I’ll also remember the ending as well.  Freebies and an extra $15 in my pocket.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

